Communications & External Affairs

The Communications & External Affairs Branch reaches out to stakeholders, partners, and interested parties to communicate key regional actions and policies. In particular, we provide outreach materials and share useful and accessible information.

Branch Chief

The Communications & External Affairs Branch is led by Ruth Howell, Branch Chief
Phone: 206.302.2474
Email: Ruth.Howell@noaa.gov

Communications Specialists

Katherine Cheney, Senior Communication Specialist (on detail with the Interior Columbia Basin Office)
Phone: 503.231.6730
Email: Katherine.Cheney@noaa.gov

Merlin Alix Smith, Communications Specialist
Phone: 503.231.2119
Email: Merlin.Smith@noaa.gov

Social Media

Alan Rahi
Phone: 503.230.5403
Email: Alan.Rahi@noaa.gov

Public Affairs Officers

Media Relations for California

Jim Milbury, Public Affairs Officer
Phone: 562.980.4006, mobile: 310.245.7114
Email: Jim.Milbury@noaa.gov

Media Relations for Oregon, Washington, Idaho, Northwest Fisheries Science Center, and Southwest Fisheries Science Center

Michael Milstein, Public Affairs Officer
Phone: 503.231.6268, mobile: 971.313.1466
Email: Michael.Milstein@noaa.gov

Tribal Relations

Amilee Wilson, Regional Tribal Coordinator
Phone: 360.753.5820, mobile: 360.522.5556
Email: Amilee.Wilson@noaa.gov

Education & Outreach

Alicia Keefe
Phone: 206.526.4447
Email: Alicia.Keefe@noaa.gov

Clearance & Taskers

Jennifer Ise
Phone: 562.980.4046
Email: Jennifer.Ise@noaa.gov

Hannah Mellman
Phone: 206.526.6148
Email: Hannah.Mellman@noaa.gov