ESA-Listed Marine Mammals

NOAA Fisheries has listed 22 species of marine mammals under the Endangered Species Act, where 8 of those species are from the West Coast. We manage 7 different species of cetaceans (listed below) and Guadalupe fur seals. NOAA Fisheries' Alaska Region manages Steller sea lions.  The Alaska Fisheries Science Center's Marine Mammal Laboratory does research on Steller sea lions.  

Blue Whales

Fin Whales

Guadalupe Fur Seals

Central America Humpback Whale DPS * change in status, endangered as of October 2016

Mexico Humpback Whale DPS * change in status, threatened as of October 2016

Northern Pacific Right Whales

Western North Pacific Gray Whales

Sei Whales

Southern Resident Killer Whales

Sperm Whales

Steller Sea Lions * change in status, delisted as of December 2013