Sustainable Fisheries Division

The Sustainable Fisheries Division oversees the conservation of marine resources and the management of sustainable commercial, recreational, and tribal fisheries on the West Coast, extending from the vast interior salmon habitat of Washington, Oregon, Idaho and California to the high seas of the Pacific Ocean. We collaborate extensively with the Pacific Fisheries Management Council, Native American Indian tribes and the four states within the region in our management of albacore, coastal pelagic species, groundfish, salmon, and other marine resources. We also participate in the implementation of numerous international treaties and other agreements designed to conserve while sustaining fisheries for highly migratory fish, particularly tuna, whiting, halibut and salmon, and protect marine mammals of mutual interest to nations of the Pacific. Responsibilities include implementation of Native American Tribal treaty fishing rights in the Northwest and harmonizing these requirements within our review of salmon harvest and hatchery operations to ensure consistency with the requirements of the Endangered Species Act. 

Download the Sustainable Fisheries Leadership Org Chart

Assistant Regional Administrator

The Sustainable Fisheries Division is led by Steve Freese, Assistant Regional Administrator (Acting)
Phone: 206.526.6113
Email: Steve.Freese@noaa.gov

Highly Migratory Species Branch

The Highly Migratory Species Branch is led by Heidi Taylor
Phone: 562.980.4039
Email: Heidi.Taylor@noaa.gov

Groundfish & Coastal Pelagic Species Branch

The Groundfish & Coastal Pelagic Species Branch is led by Kevin Duffy
Phone: 206.526.4743
Email: Kevin.Duffy@noaa.gov

The Groundfish & Coastal Pelagic Species Senior Policy Advisor is Frank Lockhart
Phone: 206.526.6142
Email: Frank.Lockhart@noaa.gov

Permits & Monitoring Branch

The Permits & Monitoring Branch is led by Steve Freese
Phone: 206.526.6113
Email: Steve.Freese@noaa.gov

Anadromous Production & Inland Fisheries Branch

The Anadromous Production & Inland Fisheries Branch is led by Rob Jones
Phone: 503.230.5427
Email: Rob.Jones@noaa.gov

Anadromous Harvest Management Branch

The Anadromous Harvest Management Branch is led by Peter Dygert
Phone: 206.526.6734
Email: Peter.Dygert@noaa.gov